

#### EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL

DATE: 02 NOVEMBER 2022

## Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen

Report of Head of Democratic and Electoral Services

#### **Purpose of Report**

To consider admission of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen of the County.

#### **Recommendation:**

To confer the title of Honorary Alderman /Honorary Alderwoman on the following:

- 1) Thomas Sinclair Wilson
- 2) David Ledger
- 3) Ian Carr Fry Swithenbank
- 4) Gordon Webb
- 5) Margaret Evelyn Richards
- 6) Lesley Jennifer Rickerby
- 7) Anthony Harkness Murray
- 8) Deirdre Campbell
- 9) Susan Elizabeth Dungworth
- 10) James Grant Davey

#### **Link to Corporate Plan**

This report is relevant to the "How" priority included in the draft NCC Corporate Plan 2021-2024 which states "We want to be efficient, open and work for everyone".

#### **Key Issues**

- Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 gives principal councils the power to confer the title of 'Honorary Aldermen, or Honorary Alderwomen, on persons who have in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council but are no longer members of that authority.
- Under this legislation, a formal vote is required to proceed. No fewer than two-thirds of those present at the Council meeting must agree the nomination. The decisions of the Council on all nominations are final

 Should the vote be positive, at the next Council Meeting, those conferred with the title (or their representative) will be presented with a pin brooch, gift and certificate confirming the title by the Civic Head and given the opportunity to address the Council.

## **Background**

- 1. In September 2021, Council RESOLVED that:-
  - (a) the Council agree to the reinstatement of the practice of appointing Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen from the 2021 election onwards;
  - (b) a special Council (an extraordinary meeting of the Council), be convened to confer the title of Honorary Aldermen/ Alderwomen on those past Councillors meeting the criteria;
  - (d) the Protocol attached to that report be approved.
- 2. Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 gives principal councils the power to confer the title of 'Honorary Aldermen, or Honorary Alderwomen, on persons who have in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council but are no longer members of that authority.
- 3. The agreed protocol is attached as Appendix A and states that the Leader in consultation with the Group Leaders consider nominations and assess them against the criteria on behalf of their Groups via the Chief Executive.
- 4. Appointments of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen must take place at an Extraordinary County Council meeting specially convened for the purpose. It is for this purpose that this Extraordinary Meeting has been convened. The nominations form the list of names in the recommendation and will be proposed and seconded at the meeting.
- 5. Two thirds of the members present must vote in favour of a resolution for the nominees to be appointed as an Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman.
- 6. The length of service as a Councillor whether continuous or broken and including former District Council service should be a minimum of 20 years, unless there are deemed to be exceptional circumstances where a shorter term may be considered.
- 7. The Leader of the Council and other political Group Leaders (on behalf of their Groups) have met to discuss nominations and they propose that the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman be conferred on the following persons who meet the criteria, as set out in paragraph 8 below.
- 8. The nominations below will be formally proposed by Councillor Glen Sanderson, and seconded by Councillor Scott Dickinson:

Thomas Sinclair Wilson

David Ledger
Ian Carr Fry Swithenbank
Gordon Webb
Margaret Evelyn Richards
Lesley Jennifer Rickerby
Anthony Harkness Murray
Deirdre Campbell
Susan Elizabeth Dungworth
James Grant Davey

# **Implications**

Policy	Protocol agreed by Council 21 September 2021	
Finance and value for money	Small cost for scrolls etc.	
Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 gives prince councils the power to confer the title of 'Honorary Aldermet Honorary Alderwomen, on persons who have in the opinion the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council but longer members of that authority.		
	Section 249 confers the function of appointing Honorary Aldermen or Honorary Alderwomen specifically to a meeting of the Council specially convened for this purpose.	
	Part 2 para. 3(9) of the Local Authorities (Functions and Responsibilities) (England) Regulations 2000 confirm that the matters within this report are functions reserved to Full Council.	
	These functions are set out within the terms of reference for Full Council in the Constitution.	
Procurement	None	
Human Resources	None	
Property	None	
Equalities (Impact Assessment attached)	None	

Yes □ No □ N/A □	
Risk Assessment	None
Crime & Disorder	None
Customer Consideration	None
Carbon reduction	None
Health and Wellbeing	None
Wards	None

#### **Background papers:**

Appendix A – Protocol for the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen

# Report sign off.

# Authors must ensure that officers and members have agreed the content of the report:

	Full Name of Officer
Monitoring Officer/Legal	Suki Binjal
Executive Director of Finance & S151 Officer	Jan Willis
Relevant Executive Director	Rick O'Farrell
Interim Chief Executive	Rick O'Farrell
Portfolio Holder	Councillor Glen
	Sanderson

#### **Appendix 1 attached**

Protocol for the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen

### **Background Papers**

# <u>N/A</u>

#### **Author and Contact Details**

Jackie Roll, Head of Democratic and Electoral Services Jackie.Roll@northumberland.gov.uk